Back to Work

I’ve officially completed my first week of work since I had my son.  To be perfectly honest, I thought it would go a lot worse.  I missed him terrible and I definitely cried leaving my driveway two days in a row.  But I’m finding it nice to be out of the house and getting to talk to grown-ups.  I printed pictures to have at my desk (for when I’m really feeling down about leaving him home), or I simply pester my sister-in-law for an update on what he’s doing.  The hardest part thus far?  Pumping.     If anyone told me how much trouble it would be to breastfeed/pump I’m not sure I would have gone through with it.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love knowing that I am the sole provider of my sons food, and I love the collection we have when he’s breastfeeding.  But going out to do some shopping is a terrible struggle when you have to calculate when his feedings will be, where will I be, and where is the best place to feed him without having strangers stare at me like I’m streaking through the mall.  Plus I have to drag all of my pumping supplies to work (or anywhere I go without him), take extra time out of my day to pump, and then tote it all back home at the end of the day.  Tack on the fact that breast milk goes through babies faster than formula, and I completely understand why parents switch to formula… Its so much more convenient.

All that being said, I’m not switching him to formula just yet.  I find that I treasure the connection too much when I come home to give breastfeeding up.  I’m lucky that my work is so understanding and able to accommodate any needs I have when it comes to pumping and worrying over my son.  They allowed me to get back into the swing of things at my own pace (which was quicker than we both realized).   And don’t you know, someone just woke up… must be hungry 😉

Comments, thoughts, opinions?

