My Dear Watson – WP Writing Challenge

We got to fit in one unscheduled dance at our wedding. A moment to just breath during the chaos. He has always been that moment for me.

So I recently tripped over The Daily Post, and found this nifty little section for Writing Challenges.  What a wonderful idea!  So why not participate?  This week’s was called My Dear Watson:

Life just isn’t the same without your trusty sidekick. For this week’s writing challenge, tell us about your partner in crime.

What a perfect way to brag a little about my “Watson”!  I should probably start with some background though, huh?  My husband and I met at my brother’s boy scout meeting.  My parents were divorced so my dad would drag me along to the meetings held in a church.  I would sit in the hallway with a book and read while the meeting went on, and wait “patiently” to go home.  I couldn’t tell you how many meetings I went to, there were too many.  But one day out of nowhere my future husband came up to me and we just started chatting… and we never stopped.

We’ve had so many late night chats, about all manner of things be it big or small.  We’d lay in bed, lights off (or dim), and just chat until I passed out.  He’s a night owl, but would stretch out with me patiently every night, and then go back to doing whatever it was he was doing before I was heading for bed.

This routine is a little broken up now.  Between being exhausted after a day with my son, and the fact that my husband works nights (albeit from home), we just don’t have the leisure time to do it anymore.  But we still find some time and different method to keep on chatting.  We’ll send each other links for things (silly and serious) over the day and remind each other of tasks that need to be done via text or Google Hangouts.  A quick peck in the morning as he is going to bed and I am getting up with the baby for the day.  Now that we both work from home we see each other a little more in the evening than before which is wonderful.  So now we have time to make dinner and play with our little guy together.

My husband has been, and always will be, my rock.  He was there for me through difficult times as a teenager, and there for me through the hell that was uncontrolled chronic migraines (2+ years and many medicines later they finally got it under control).  We watched each other grow and change, and supported each other through times of change that weren’t so voluntary.  It’s funny to look back at the kids we were, and try to figure out how we wound up here.  He was so nervous to become a dad, but he has been knocking it out of the park since our little guy graced us with his presence.

I won’t lie to you.  We have our arguments from time to time.  We bicker about house work and finances just like everyone else.  But at the end of the day, I can’t think of anyone else I’d want to face the next challenge with than my husband.

2 Comments

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without
    a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.

    Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this during my
    search for something concerning this.

    Like

Comments, thoughts, opinions?

