Nineteen

19 days on the right 19 weeks on the left

My son spent 19 days in the NICU.  19 long days.  19 days I can barely remember now.  I remember the emotions clear as day, but I’m quickly forgetting how I felt like it would never end.  They’d tell us they had to increase his oxygen again and I’d just sit and wonder if we’d ever leave.  My son recently passed 19 weeks, and I’m amazed.  Where did all of those weeks go?  It seems like yesterday I was walking through those doors terrified of screwing up this innocent life.

Now it’s almost like he’s a whole new person! He actually plays with toys, touches and grabs everything, and LOVES food.  He likes having a routine, and reminds us when we are running behind.  He gets bored and lets us know when it’s time to move on to something else. He laughs at so much that I can’t help giggling myself.  He grins just like his father, and frustrates me just like him too.  I let my computer loop through all of my pictures of my amazing little guy to remind me where we’ve been, and where we are now.  I can’t wait to see how he changes and grows and who he becomes.  I’ll have to make sure to look back on this when he turns 19 months, and again at 19 years. But lets not get ahead of ourselves.  I’m intent on living life today first!

Comments, thoughts, opinions?

