Glasses and tears

T's new glasses! The world is a whole new place.

Today my son put on his very first pair of glasses. You could tell right away they made a difference. He’d put them on and look at something, lift them up and look at that same object. We took him to the mall where they have a little play area for the kids, but he demanded to explore the entire mall instead, looking left and right the whole time. It took everything in me not to cry. 

I don’t know why I’m so sad. We caught this early and have been working with an optician for months. We knew this day was coming, but I just didn’t realize how bad it had gotten. A few weeks ago he stopped letting us read books and we thought he was just getting too impatient with sitting through them… now I think he just couldn’t see any of the details and was frustrated. Something told me to bring a book when we went to go get his glasses. I’m so glad we did. Our entire ride home he read his book, pointing out the animals to me like he used to.

I was worried at first when we ordered his glasses that he’d never keep them on. He actually did great with them! He had so much energy to look and explore everything all over again. It actually broke my heart a little watching it all take place. Tomorrow we’ll go to the Children’s Museum of Play and let him explore more of this world now that he can see better. I’m going to try to shake these blues before we get there.

We’re lucky that we we’re able to identify the issue before his second birthday. But every time he sees me across the room and yells my name, I feel a little sad. He has never done that. Sure he’s called for me when he’s trying to find me. But to actually yell my name when he saw me? Not once. I want to enjoy this and show him everything again. And I just need to keep reminding myself that this is not a bad thing. We didn’t do anything wrong. Our entire family wears glasses and now it’s his turn.

In my heart I know we’ve done everything we possibly could. We pointed out to his doctor at his 18 month checkup that his eye didn’t seem quite straight. We followed up with the referral until it finally came through. We did the patch exercises that the optician prescribed. And now we’re going to make sure he wears his glasses everyday. This is just another adventure with T. One where everything is clear and crisp and brand new to him. He’s such an independent little man. I can’t wait to see where this adventure leads.

Comments, thoughts, opinions?

